Iowa State Cyclocross Championships

The Iowa Cyclocross Championships will be held on December 1st, 2012 at
Lions Park in Altoona. Same great venue! Same great course!

Online registration will open soon. Along with full details on the day-of
schedule, categories, and prizes!

We’ve got some extra special tidbits that we are just days away from
announcing as well, but they’re like a birthday wish, if we tell you too
soon they might not come true. Stay tuned!

Zealous Racing Team

Spooky Cross Reminders

Hey folks, Just a few last minute items for Spooky Cross this weekend. Pre-registration closes at 6am Saturday morning, so don’t delay!

First off, we’d like to thank Greg and the gang at Rasmussen’s Bike Shop for donating some great prizes for the Junior’s races both days! Stop in and see them to get your rig fixed up and last minute essentials before this weekend!


Saturday we’ll have a free will donation potluck. Bring your appetites! All donations will go towards The Iowa Cycling Development Foundation. This is a great foundation that helps develop Junior racers in Iowa. You can read more about them here.

Sunday, Tacopocalypse is back! Chef Sam and crew will be on-site serving their delicious taco goodness! Mmm… tacos


Traveling from out of town? We’ve got you covered. We’ve secured a discounted rate with Extended Stay America right across the interstate from the race course. Give them a call and let them know you’re with the Spooky Cross race!

Extended Stay America Hotel Des Moines – Urbandale
3940 114th Street, Urbandale, IA
(515) 276-1929 ‎ ·

See you Saturday!

Spooky Stuff

Just a reminder that tonight is the deadline for t-shirt pre-orders! Spooky Cross event t-shirts are only $15 if purchased during pre-registration. Limited quantities and sizes will be available for $20 at the race. Get yours TODAY! Anybody interested in purchasing a t-shirt without registering for the race may do so for the price of $20. Please email Nate @ with your size, quantity and contact info. We will make arrangements for payment. Deadline for these orders is 11:59 pm tonight also!


Last but not least, we are also pleased to announce that Spooky Cross will again be part of The Midwest CX Stitch series! For more information on this great series and what they’re about, head on over to or check them out on Facebook. Series Director Sydney Brown and her team are doing great things with this series and we’re proud to be a part of it again.

That’s all for now folks! Stay tuned here for more updates.

Zealous Racing Crew

Spooky CX

Spooky CX is back for 2012 and hosted by your friends at Zealous Racing! The race will take place October 27th & 28th at Living History Farms in Des Moines.

Online Registration is now OPEN

T-shirt pre-orders are available through midnight Monday, Oct 15. Limited quantities will be available to purchase at the race, so get registered and pre-order yours before time runs out!

Final 2012 Tompkins Elkhart TT Results

The final evening of the 2012 Tompkins Elkhart TT Series did not disappoint!  We had great weather and another night of great racing.  Times are posted below and will be uploaded to usacycling this evening.  The overall series points / results spreadsheet will be updated shortly.

We’d like to thank you all for coming out and racing with us this year!  We’re already looking forward to 2013.  We’d also like to thank our sponsor, Tompkins Industries, Inc. for making this race possible.  Last but not least, thank you to Kippy’s Place in Elkhart for their great hospitality after each race and for the Awards Party.

Be on the lookout this fall!  The Zealous Racing Crew is already making plans for an exciting Cyclocross season.  Stay tuned for more info!

Last First Category Elapsed Time
Wall Scott 40 0:17:28
Burdick Jeff 40 0:17:58
Cornelison Dave 40 0:18:04
Hellickson Jason 40 0:18:59
Green David 40 0:19:04
Kyhl Christopher 40 0:21:08
Hahn Jason 40 0:21:55
Shaffer Dan 50 0:17:02
Knutson Kelly 50 0:17:48
Catron Randy 50 0:18:41
Brown John 50 0:18:58
Lones Brad 50 0:19:28
Koestler Peter 50 0:19:36
Black Paul 60 0:19:19
Jurgens Ric 60 0:20:01
Ortega Deems 60 0:20:01
Leehoven Tony 60 0:20:10
Fortney Harry 60 0:22:12
Hartwig John 70 0:21:29
Bernstein Jason 4’5 0:16:35
Vald Roman 4’5 0:17:19
Lowe Tim 4’5 0:17:47
Terhark Brian 4’5 0:19:15
Shipley Andrew 4’5 0:19:16
Lehman Dallas 4’5 0:20:09
Shannon Dustin 4’5 0:20:17
Schneider Dave 4’5 0:21:26
Volante Dave 4’5 0:21:42
Rhodes Justin 4’5 0:23:47
Vande Lune Chad EM 0:18:55
Estabrook Jonathon EM 0:19:00
Gammel Jed EM 0:19:16
Van Allen Macen EM 0:19:58
Levy Frank EM 0:20:07
Thompson Adam EM 0:20:09
Alexander David EM 0:20:20
McKay John EM 0:22:15
Goertz Kurtis EM 0:23:07
DiTomaso Frank EM 0
Cassaday Derek fun 0:16:43
Hedgecock Trey Jr 0:20:48
Rosamund Patrick Jr 0:21:45
Trent Jared Jr 0:22:34
Bernstein Connor Jr 0:29:09
Wall Chelsea JrW 0:27:39
Cassaday Derek open 0:16:28
Lippold David open 0:17:04
Hantleman Kurt open 0:17:13
Pesch Ryan open 0:17:59
McLaren Jared open 0:18:46
Gritters Rick rec 0:18:46
Martin Chris/Monika tandem 0:17:16
West/Cook Kim/Sue tandem 0:18:23
Bruxvoort Ash w4 0:23:34
Gervais Abby w4 0:24:25
York Erica w4 0:26:30
Trune Ani w40 0:19:09
Dunivan Sandy w40 0:21:29
Sweeney Coreen w40 0:21:40
Goodman Julie w40 0:22:05
Skinner Susan w40 0:22:19
Kuhns Karalyn w40 0:26:43
Forrest Nancy w40 0:27:57
Riedl Jessica WEM 0:22:05
White Savannah WEM 0:26:02
Uscilowski Loren wopen 0:18:58
Lewnau Carol wopen 0:19:05
Flood Aryn wopen 0:19:49
Dykeman Martha LeBron wopen 0:21:29
Allen Melinda wopen 0:21:37
LeCroy Lanette wopen 0:22:53
Geiger Heidi wopen 0:23:00
Pohlmeyer Michelle wopen 0:23:35

Final Tompkins Elkhart TT of 2012

This Thursday is the final Tompkins Elkhart TT Series race of the summer! Awards will be handed out at Kippy’s Place in Elkhart following the race. They’ll be offering food and drink specials and we’ll have our tents setup outside. Come out and join us! Racing starts at 6:30 and the fun to follow! – Zealous Racing Crew

Iowa Cyclocross Championships

It’s almost here! The Iowa State Cyclocross Championships are next Saturday, December 10th! Have you registered yet? You can do so here. Check out our flyer for directions to the venue and to see what time your race starts. Make sure to register by tonight, November 30th, in order to receive your free t-shirt! Please select the size for your free shirt and any additional shirts you’d like to purchase while registering. A limited number of shirts of assorted sizes will be on sale at the event, so get yours secured now! Shirts provided by Zealous Consulting and our good friends at T Shirt Graphix in Beaverdale.

What are you going to do for food on race day? No worries! We have you covered. Come early and come HUNGRY! Des Moines’ own Tacopocalypse will be onsite selling their delicious taco goodness to fuel you towards winning that state medal. Current menu:

Breakfast – $7
“These are corn tortilla chihauhau cheese quesadillas topped with choice of taco filling, more cheese, eggs, and slaw. It’s our much better answer to the breakfast burrito.” -Chef Sam

Tacos – 2 for $5
Braised Pork, Vegan Chorizo, Bacon Chorizo, and one other selection, yet to be determined.

So, what are you waiting for? Get registered and we’ll see you next Saturday!

-Zealous Racing Team